Action Group 7 focuses on developing ecological connectivity and thus to strengthen, improve and restore biodiversity, as well as ecosystem services. Its implementation will increase the degree of connection between natural and semi-natural landscapes in the entire EUSALP territory.


With its broad representation of members from Alpine countries and regions as well as advisors with different institutional and sectoral backgrounds, AG 7 builds on a dialogue including stakeholders from all relevant sectors. It aims at setting up a comprehensive macro-regional scheme by applying the EU Strategy for Green Infrastructure (GI) to regional scales and making the Alps an outstanding candidate for GI in Europe.

The AG 7 provides the framework for developing a strategically planned network of natural and semi-natural areas, including features in rural and urban areas which together – functionally interconnected – ensure diverse advantages for nature, as well as social benefits and economic prosperity for humans.


• To identify Alpine GI elements of transnational relevance, improve governance approaches and explore funding opportunities.

• To promote the various benefits of GI as complementary solutions to Grey Infrastructure and bring GI onto the political agenda of the Alpine Region.

• To trigger tangible implementation initiatives and liaise with implementation partners from all relevant sectors to make GI visible and close gaps in the trans-European “matrix for life”.

• To allow the benefits of ecological connectivity to emerge at ecosystem and societal dimensions, enhancing resilience to threats such as climate change. 

• To develop solutions to halt biodiversity loss and address challenges such as missing connections between natural areas and homogeneous and impoverished lowlands.





Miro Kristan


Annalisa Cevasco

Group Members

Angelika Abderhalden
Florian Ballnus
Blanka Bartol
Raimund Becher
Thomas Böhm
Annalisa Cevasco
Cédric Conteau
Chiara Crosta
Katalin Czippán
Serena D'Ambrogi
Florian Danzinger
Nika Debeljak
Marion Ebster
Lukas Egarter
Agnes Erler
Filippo Favilli
Giuseppe Gargano
Allessandro Gretter
Bettina Hedden-Dunkhorst
Polona Kolarek-Novšek
Miro Kristan
Harald Ladich
Myriam Maraval
Daniela Minetti
Marie-Paule Mondière
Nathalie Morelle
Dario Ottonello
Dario Parravicini
Gioele Passoni
Guido Plassman
Simon Poljanšek
Maria Quarta
Annapaola Rizzoli
Johannes Schima
Johann Schmid
Ursula Schuepbach
Daniel Thonon
Guillaume Tournaire
Antonella Trisorio
Philipp Vesely
Pierluigi Vinai
Mattias Von Wuthenau
Tarik Yaïche
Daniele Zucchelli
Serena Arduino
Gian Antonio Battistel
Andrea Bianchini
Claire De Kermadec
Julika Jarosch
Jana Podgornik
Alessandro Paletto